Eine AR-Cloud für Europa  

Das EU 2020 Horizon Project ARtwin (Ref.No.856994) zielt darauf ab, dem europäischen Industrie- und Bausektor eine AR-Cloud-Plattform zur Verfügung zu stellen. So, kann der digitale Zwilling einer Fabrik oder eines Gebäudes in Echtzeit visualisiert sowie manipuliert werden. Holo-Light unterstützt das Projekt mit seiner Remote-Rendering-Lösung ISAR.   

Augmented Reality steigert die Produktivität erheblich und fördert Qualitätsverbesserungen. Dennoch gibt es immer noch Schwierigkeiten zu überwinden, wenn es um groß angelegte Anwendungen geht. Dynamische Betriebsumgebungen, die variablen Lichtverhältnissen ausgesetzt sind, schränken derzeit die Effizienz der AR-Rollouts ein.   

Um diese Grenzen auszuweiten, erstellen Google, Microsoft und Apple eine 3D-Karte der Umgebung in der Cloud-Umgebung. Die Karte kann von jedem AR-Gerät aktualisiert und gemeinsam genutzt werden. Sie ermöglicht kollaborative AR-Erfahrungen sowie robustere und genauere 3D-Registrierungen.    

Derzeit erfüllen diese ersten AR-Cloud-Implementierungen die Anforderungen der Industrie und des Baugewerbes 4.0 nicht vollständig. Dabei könnten europäische Akteure in eine Zwangslage geraten, wenn ihnen keine passable Lösung vorgeschlagen wird. Das ARtwin-Projekt setzt es sich zum Ziel, der europäischen Industrie und dem Baugewerbe 4.0 eine AR-Cloud-Plattform zur Verfügung zu stellen, die ihren Anforderungen entspricht.  

Remote Rendering als entscheidendes Puzzleteil   

Komplexe Visualisierungen wie z.B. ein Building Information Model (BIM) können nur mit Hilfe einer zusätzlichen Rechenquelle mit extrem geringer Latenzzeit durchgeführt werden. Deshalb wird die vorgesehene Lösung auf einer entfernten privaten und/oder Edge-Cloud eingesetzt: Sie gewährleistet den Datenschutz. Holo-Light unterstützt hier stark mit ISAR (Interactive Streaming for Augmented Reality), seiner Remote-Rendering-Lösung. Mit ISAR können Hochpolygon-Inhalte mit jedem Detail in realer Größe visualisiert werden.   

Vorteile des ARtwin-Projekts 

Der ARtwin bietet eine breite Palette von Anwendungsfällen in intelligenten Fabriken. Planer einer Fabrik haben damit die Planung der Produktionslinie, auf Feldebene, also vor Ort durchzuführen. Darüber hinaus erleichtert ARtwin die Produktionsplanung aus der Ferne. Fabrikarbeiter erhalten relevante Kontextinformationen über die Maschinen, mit denen sie interagieren. So, ist eine schnelle Unterstützung und schnelle Entscheidungsfindung sowie eine unterstützte Problemlösung möglich.   

Auf der Baustelle könnte es folgendermaßen aussehen: Die Bauarbeiter erhalten alle notwendigen Informationen über die von ihnen übernommenen Aufgaben und Feedback von ihren Vorgesetzten. Bauleiter werden in die Lage versetzt, Baumängel in einem sehr frühen Stadium zu erkennen. Darüber hinaus könnten sie sogar den Bauprozess berechnen.    

Fazit     

Mit einer europäischen AR-Cloud-Plattform wird endlich eine wichtige Barriere überwunden, die derzeit großformatigen AR Implementierungen noch im Weg steht. Das Projekt hat eine Laufzeit von drei Jahren. Bleiben Sie dran für weitere Projekt-Updates.   

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt 

Holo-Light GmbH

Maximilianstraße 2
A-6020 Innsbruck

Talk to us
+43 (0)664 882 346 32
info@holo-light.com

FREE WHITEPAPER / ISAR SDK

Streaming of XR Apps
[Holo-Light, 2021]
Download our free whitepaper to learn how to master major challenges in the AR/VR world with XR Streaming.
DOWNLOAD NOW
close-link
close-link

AR CODE JAM

Register here
[Holo-Light, 2021]
Fill out this registration form asap to save your spot. If you have any questions please contact us at
info@holo-light.com
Sign up now
Close
Register for our Code Jam
Fill out this registration form asap to save your spot. If you have any questions please contact us at info@holo-light.com
Register Now
With my registration I accept the conditions of participation. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and 
Terms of Service apply.
close-link

Stay Connected!

Receive our Newsletter and stay ahead in AR.
SUBSCRIBE
close-link

 ISAR SDK






Free Whitepaper 
Streaming of XR Apps

How to Master Challenges of AR/VR with Remote Rendering
DOWNLOAD NOW
close-link

A Sovereign AR Cloud for Europe 

The EU 2020 Horizon Project ARtwin (Ref.No.856994) aims at providing the European Industry and Construction 4.0 ecosystem with a sovereign cloud platform. This way a digital twin of a factory or a building could be maintained in real time. Holo-Light contributes to the ar cloud with its remote rendering solution ISAR 

Augmented Reality increases productivity significantly and fosters quality improvements. Nevertheless, there are still difficulties to overcome, when it comes to large-scale deployments. Operational dynamic environments exposed to variable lighting conditions may set limitations to efficient AR roll outs.  

In order to overcome this barrier, Google, Microsoft and Apple are building a 3D map of the environment in the cloud. The map can be updated and shared by any AR device. It allows collaborative AR experiences as well as more robust and accurate 3D registrations.   

Unfortunately, the early-stage ARCloud implementations do not fully meet industry and construction 4.0 requirements and European players may face a lock-in situation if no sovereign solution is proposed to them. ARtwin project aims to provide European Industry and Construction 4.0 with an ARCloud platform that meets their needs. 

Remote Rendering as Decisive Puzzle Piece  

Complex visualizations such as a Building Information Model (BIM) can only get carried out in ultra-low latency by means of an additional computing source. Therefore, the envisaged solution will be deployed on a distant private or/and edge cloud: it ensures the privacy of information. Holo-Light strongly supports here with ISAR (Interactive Streaming for Augmented Reality), its remote rendering solution. With ISAR high-polygon content can be visualized with every detail in real size.  

Benefits of the ARtwin 

The ARtwin offers a wide range of use cases in smart factories. It allows field-level planners of a factory an on-site production line planning. Furthermore, it facilitates remote production planning. Factory workers are provided with relevant contextual information about the machines they interact with. This way quick support and fast decision making is possible as well as assisted problem-solving.  

On the construction site it could look the following: Construction workers receive all the necessary information about the tasks they undertake and feedback from their supervisors. Construction managers are enabled to detect construction defects at a very early stage. Furthermore, they could even compute the construction process.   

Conclusion  

A sovereign AR Cloud platform will finally break down an important barrier, which stands in the way of AR deployment. The project has a duration of three years. Stay tuned for further project updates.  

Further Information

Holo-Light GmbH

Maximilianstraße 2
A-6020 Innsbruck

Talk to us
+43 (0)664 882 346 32
info@holo-light.com

Stay Connected!

Receive our Newsletter and stay ahead in AR.
SUBSCRIBE
close-link