5 Jahre Holo-Light – 5 Fragen an unsere 5 Gründer

Herzlichen Glückwunsch zum Geburtstag! Es ist jetzt fünf Jahre her, dass wir unsere Holo-Light-Reise begonnen haben. Zeit für einen Plausch mit unseren 5 Gründern Flo, Susi, Alex, Luis und Michi über die Vergangenheit und die Zukunft. Herzlichen Dank an unser tolles Team und all unsere fantastischen Kunden und Partner!

Holo-Light feiert seinen 5 Geburtstag. Wie hat alles angefangen?

Flo: Wir haben Holo-Light zu einer Zeit gegründet, als Augmented Reality in der Industrie noch relativ neu war. Ein wichtiger Schritt war die Ankündigung von Microsofts erster AR-Datenbrille HoloLens. Wir sahen ein riesiges Potenzial für den industriellen Einsatz, konnten uns schon früh ein Gerät beschaffen und nutzten diesen Marktvorteil, um erste Lösungen zu kreieren.

Alex: Mit unserem Engineering-Hintergrund wussten wir auch aus erster Hand, wo die Herausforderungen liegen. Wir haben im Studium einen Zug konstruiert und hätten die Technologie damals gut gebrauchen können. Stichwort Prototypenbau.

Luis: Bevor der Zug abgefahren ist – lieber schnell eine Firma gründen (lacht). Unser Ziel war es, eine industrietaugliche Augmented Reality Software zu entwickeln, welche die Lücke zwischen der virtuellen Planung und dem, was letztlich real ist, schließt.

Das Holo-Gründerteam, bestehend aus: Michael Oberlechner, Alex Werlberger, Susanne Haspinger, Florian Haspinger und Luis Bollinger (von links nach rechts). (CR: kristen-images.com / Michael Kristen für Holo-Light)

Wie hat sich Holo-Light über die Jahre verändert, was ist gleichgeblieben?

Susi: Gleichgeblieben sind der Spirit und die Dynamik – sowohl im Gründer-Team als auch bei den Mitarbeitern. Und auch die Rücksichtnahme auf die individuelle Situation wird bei uns nach wie vor großgeschrieben. Hierzu gehört flexibles Arbeiten, Home Office, aber vor allem auch ein offener Austausch auf Augenhöhe zwischen Entwicklung, Management, Vertrieb und Marketing.

Michi: Wir sind über die Jahre definitiv effizienter und fokussierter geworden. Auch dank unserer Investoren. Sie haben uns etwa bei der Professionalisierung unserer Finanzprozesse gefordert, motiviert und unterstützt. Und auch Events und Partnerschaften wählen wir jetzt viel gezielter aus.

Was war euer lustigster Holo-Moment bisher?

Luis: In unseren Anfangszeiten bekam Flo einen Anruf von einem unseren Mentoren bei TechFounders, der völlig nervös erzählte, dass wohl ein Vorstandsmitglied eines großen Unternehmens uns ein Bauteil für ein Projekt persönlich vorbeibringen wollte. Der gute Alex war im Büro und hatte die Situation vollkommen unter Kontrolle. Gerade vom Duschen gekommen, erklärte er dem Vorstandsmitglied (fast) nur mit Handtuch bedeckt vom AR Projekt. Er hat natürlich nicht gewusst, wer ihm da gegenübersaß. Diese Bodenständigkeit kam super sympathisch rüber und wir haben sehr gelacht.

Flo: Bodenständigkeit nennst du das also (…). Ich würde nicht unbedingt von einem Moment sprechen: Egal in welcher Situation sich die Firma befindet – und da waren auch brenzlige Momente dabei – gibt es bei uns immer einen Anlass zum Lachen. Wir nehmen Dinge mit Humor und fokussieren uns auf unsere Arbeit. Mit dem nötigen Ernst bei der Sache natürlich! 😉

Wo seht ihr Holo-Light in den nächsten fünf Jahren? Worauf freut ihr euch am meisten?

Susi: Kurzfristig hoffe ich in Zeiten von Corona erstmal, dass sich die derzeitige Lage bald entspannt und unser tolles Team wieder im Büro zusammenkommen kann. Natürlich wollen wir auch noch unsere virtuelle Geburtstagsfeier in die Realität holen und eine “ordentliche” Feier ausrichten.

Alex: Produktseitig sehe ich, dass unsere AR Software ARES (Augmented Reality Engineering Space) global eingesetzt und zum Standard in der Industrie wird. Unsere Vision ist es, der globale Marktführer in Sachen Engineering-Tools zu sein.

Michi: Wir wollen uns auch auf jeden Fall das Gefühl der Familiarität und Firmenverbundenheit bewahren, auch wenn wir mitarbeitertechnisch stark wachsen. Das Persönliche und der Spaß an der Arbeit sollen auch in fünf Jahren im Vordergrund stehen und nicht auf Kosten des Erfolgs leiden müssen.

Unabhängig von der Industrie, wo seht ihr die tollsten Einsatzgebiete für AR? Wie könnte sich unser Leben dadurch verändern? 

Alex: Real-World-AR-Gaming! Pokémon Go war erst ein netter Anfang!

Susi: Unterstützung im Alltag. Viele alltägliche Abläufe lassen sich mit Augmented Reality und Smart Glasses eleganter gestalten.

Luis: Genau, mir schwebt AR und künstliche Intelligenz als Personal Assistant vor, der mir Aufgaben abnimmt. Dem Menschen bleibt dann mehr Zeit sich auf seine Kreativität zu konzentrieren.

Michi: Ich freue mich sehr auf den Tag, an dem Augmented Reality im Mainstream-Alltag angekommen ist. Wenn Ottonormalverbaucher AR-Hardware einfach im Elektromarkt erwerben können und AR-Brillen unter dem Weihnachtsbaum liegen.

Flo: Augmented Reality ist ein großer Meilenstein und ein eindeutiges Zeichen, dass wir in der Zukunft angekommen sind. So gut wie kein Sciene-Fiction-Werk kommt ohne AR aus. In Raumschiffen wimmelt es nur so vor Hologrammen und auch Iron Man nutzt AR als Personal Assistant. Unser soziales Leben wird künftig von AR geprägt sein. Und vor allem die Werbeindustrie wird sich das Potential nicht entgehen lassen.

Holo-Light GmbH

Maximilianstraße 2
A-6020 Innsbruck

Talk to us
+43 (0)664 882 346 32
info@holo-light.com

FREE WHITEPAPER / ISAR SDK

Streaming of XR Apps
[Holo-Light, 2021]
Download our free whitepaper to learn how to master major challenges in the AR/VR world with XR Streaming.
DOWNLOAD NOW
close-link
close-link

AR CODE JAM

Register here
[Holo-Light, 2021]
Fill out this registration form asap to save your spot. If you have any questions please contact us at
info@holo-light.com
Sign up now
Close
Register for our Code Jam
Fill out this registration form asap to save your spot. If you have any questions please contact us at info@holo-light.com
Register Now
With my registration I accept the conditions of participation. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and 
Terms of Service apply.
close-link

Stay Connected!

Receive our Newsletter and stay ahead in AR.
SUBSCRIBE
close-link

 ISAR SDK






Free Whitepaper 
Streaming of XR Apps

How to Master Challenges of AR/VR with Remote Rendering
DOWNLOAD NOW
close-link

5 Years of Holo-Light – 5 Questions for Our 5 Founders

Happy birthday! It’s been five years now since we started our Holo-Light journey. Time for a chat with our 5 founders Flo, Susi, Alex, Luis and Michi about the past and the future. Big thanks to our great team and all our fantastic customers and partners!

Holo-Light is celebrating its 5th birthday. How did it all start?

Flo: We founded Holo-Light at a time when Augmented Reality was relatively new in the industry. An important step was the announcement of Microsoft’s first AR data glasses HoloLens. We saw a huge potential for industrial use, were able to get our hands early on a device and used this market advantage to create first solutions.

Alex: With our engineering background, we also knew first-hand where the challenges lay. During our student days we designed a train and could have made good use of the technology back then: think prototype construction.

Luis: Before missing the boat or the train in this case – better start a company quickly (laughs). Our goal was to develop an industrial-suited augmented reality software that would close the gap between virtual planning and the real world.

The Holo founding team consisting of: Michael Oberlechner, Alex Werlberger, Susanne Haspinger, Florian Haspinger and Luis Bollinger (from left to right). (CR: kristen-images.com / Michael Kristen for Holo-Light)

How has Holo-Light changed over the years? What has remained the same?

Susi: The spirit and dynamics remained the same – both in the founding team and among the employees. It’s still good virtue for us to consider the individual situation of each Holo-member. This includes flexible working, home office, but above all, an open exchange at eye level between development, management, sales and marketing.

Michi: We have become more efficient and focused over the years, thanks in part to our investors. For example, they have challenged, motivated and supported us in the professionalization of our financial processes. And we now also select events and partnerships much more systematically.

What has been the funniest Holo-moment so far?

Luis: In our early days, Flo got a call from one of our mentors at TechFounders, who nervously told us that a board member of a large company wanted to drop by our office in person to bring us a building component for a project. Alex was in the office and had the situation completely under control. Just coming fresh out of the shower, he told the board member (almost) only covered with a towel about the AR project. Of course, he did not know who was sitting opposite him. This down-to-earth attitude came across as very likeable and we laughed a lot about the situation.

Flo: So that’s what you call down-to-earth (…). I wouldn’t necessarily single out one specific moment: No matter what situation the company finds itself in – and there were some risky moments too – there is always something to laugh about. We take things with humor and focus on our work. With the necessary seriousness in the matter of course. 😉

Where do you see Holo-Light in the next five years? What are you most looking forward to?

Susi: In the short term, in times of Covid-19, I hope that the current situation will relax soon and that our great team can come together again in the office. Of course, we also want to bring our virtual birthday festivities into reality and arrange a “proper” party.

Alex: On the product side, I see that our AR software ARES (Augmented Reality Engineering Space) is being used globally and is becoming the standard in the industry. Our vision is to be the global leader in engineering tools.

Michi: We also want to maintain the feeling of familiarity and company solidarity, even if we are growing strongly in terms of our staff. In five years’ time, the personal and fun aspects of work should continue to be the focus and should not have to suffer at the expense of success.

Aside from the industry, where do you see the greatest application for AR? How could it change our lives?

Alex: Real-World-AR-Gaming! Pokémon Go only got the ball rolling!

Susi: Support in everyday life. Many everyday activities can be made more efficient with Augmented Reality and smart glasses.

Luis: Yeah, I’m thinking about AR and artificial Intelligence as a personal assistant that takes care of tasks for me. This gives people more time to concentrate on their creativity.

Michi: I am very much looking forward to the day when Augmented Reality has arrived in mainstream day-to-day life. When consumers can simply buy AR hardware at electronic stores and AR glasses are popular gifts for Christmas.

Flo: Augmented Reality is a big milestone and a clear sign that we have arrived in the future. Almost no science fiction work can do without AR. Space ships display holograms everywhere and Iron Man also uses AR as a personal assistant. Our social life will be shaped by AR in the future. And the advertising industry in particular will not miss this potential.

Holo-Light GmbH

Maximilianstraße 2
A-6020 Innsbruck

Talk to us
+43 (0)664 882 346 32
info@holo-light.com

Stay Connected!

Receive our Newsletter and stay ahead in AR.
SUBSCRIBE
close-link